AI video without a watermark: who stamps exports, and why
AI video generators without watermarks exist, but almost never on a free tier: vendors stamp free exports because every generated second costs them real compute, and the stamp is how a free plan pays for itself. The other thing to know before you shop is that "no watermark" increasingly means "no visible watermark" — many tools, ours included, embed invisible provenance in clean-looking exports (machine-readable metadata, often with signed C2PA content credentials), and that is a feature rather than a catch. This guide maps who stamps what as of October 2026, explains the difference between a corner logo and a content credential, and covers where PrismPoster lands: no visible label once you have bought any credit pack (there is no subscription), and a small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark on free-account exports, which you may still use commercially.
AI video generator pricing and watermark policies (checked October 2026)
Most AI video tools watermark free exports and remove the stamp on their first paid plan; the exceptions are tools with no real free tier, and Pika, whose free output is unwatermarked but licensed for non-commercial use only.
Every row below was read from the vendor’s own pricing or help page in October 2026, and the Source column links the page to re-check on the day you decide: these policies change with every pricing restructure. Where a page does not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing. OpenAI’s Sora is not in the table because the Sora app closed on April 26, 2026 (help.openai.com).
| Tool | Free tier (checked Oct 2026) | Watermark on free exports | What removes it | Entry paid price (checked Oct 2026) | Commercial use on free | Invisible provenance | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Runway | 125 credits, one time | Implied: "No watermarks" is listed first on the paid Standard plan | Standard plan or higher | $12/mo billed annually ($15 monthly), 625 credits | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | runway.com/pricing |
| Kapwing | 10 credits; exports up to 4 minutes at 720p | Yes | Pro plan or higher | $16/mo billed annually ($24 monthly), 1,000 credits | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | kapwing.com/pricing |
| VEED | Free plan | Yes, a VEED.IO watermark on every free export | Lite, Pro or Enterprise plan, then re-export | Not shown on the pricing page when we checked | Not stated in the help article | Not stated in the help article | support.veed.io |
| Pika | No monthly credits; one-off top-ups only | No, per the pricing table | Not applicable | $8/mo billed annually ($10 monthly), 900 credits | No; the commercial license starts on Creator ($28/mo billed annually) | Not stated on the pricing page | pika.art/pricing |
| Luma Dream Machine | No free plan listed | No free plan listed | Not applicable | $25/mo billed annually ($30 monthly), 10,000 credits | No free plan listed | Not stated on the pricing page | lumalabs.ai/pricing |
| Adobe Firefly | Free daily generations; the count is not listed | Not stated on the plans page | Not applicable | $9.99/mo (Standard), 2,000 credits | Adobe says Firefly outputs are safe for commercial use | Content Credentials attached automatically | adobe.com |
| PrismPoster | 200 starter credits in many countries (not Belarus), expiring after 24 hours | Small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark | Any one-off credit pack (the label stays on real-person likeness work) | Packs from €3.99, no subscription; a 4-second 720p clip costs 80 credits | Yes | Embedded provenance metadata, best effort; C2PA signatures best effort | /pricing |
The pattern is consistent: a visible watermark on free output, removal as roughly the first thing your money buys, and, at the provenance-minded end, an invisible layer that stays regardless.
Why free tiers watermark video
Generating video is the most expensive thing a consumer AI product can do. Every clip runs a large model on serious hardware for real minutes, and the provider pays for that run whether you keep the output or not — the same economics that make AI credit systems universal. A free tier is therefore a marketing expense, and the watermark is how the vendor gets paid for it: your free export advertises the tool wherever it travels, and the moment the logo bothers you, you are reading the pricing page. Fair is fair — that is a legitimate trade, openly made, and it funds free tiers that would otherwise not exist.
There is a second, newer reason. Some vendors keep a stamp on outputs — sometimes on every plan — so that their AI video is identifiable as AI video. That is not upselling; it is a provenance decision, and as synthetic video gets harder to tell from footage, more of the industry is moving that direction in one form or another.
So when you search for a no-watermark AI video generator, you are really asking two questions: which tools sell a clean visible frame, and what invisible layer replaces the logo. Different tools answer differently.
A corner logo and a content credential are different things
The visible watermark is branding. It exists so the export advertises the vendor, and paying to remove it is a normal transaction.
C2PA content credentials are something else. The Coalition for Content Provenance and Authenticity — a standards body whose steering committee includes Adobe, Google, Microsoft, Amazon, the BBC, and OpenAI — defines an open technical standard for recording where a piece of media came from and how it was made. The coalition describes it as working "like a nutrition label for digital content." In practice it is cryptographically signed metadata inside the file: invisible in playback, readable by anyone who inspects the file with a verification tool, and it says "this was AI-generated" without putting a logo over your work.
That distinction matters because disclosure is stopping being optional. The EU AI Act's Article 50 requires AI-generated content to be marked in machine-readable form, and platforms are increasingly reading these signals to label uploads automatically. We wrote a full creator's guide to AI content labeling on what the rules require, and our help center documents how PrismPoster implements Article 50. The short version of our position: labeling AI content is correct, and the honest way to sell a watermark-free export is to keep the machine-readable disclosure in it.
So read "no watermark" claims precisely. A tool can honestly offer no visible watermark and still embed content credentials — that is the good configuration. A tool that offers neither is not giving you more freedom; it is giving you an export that fails the disclosure expectations your distribution platforms are converging on.
The watermark-remover trap
Search this topic and you will find a cottage industry of croppers, blurrers, and AI inpainting tools promising to strip another vendor's watermark. Three reasons to close those tabs.
First, it usually breaks the agreement you generated under: vendors that watermark free output license that output with the stamp, and stripping it typically violates their terms. Second, the result looks like what it is — cropping cuts your frame, and blur or inpainting over a moving watermark leaves smearing artifacts precisely where every viewer looks. Third, when the watermark is there as AI disclosure rather than branding, removing it means actively disguising synthetic media — a bad idea ethically, and increasingly a legal problem too.
If a clean frame matters to your work, the boring answer is the right one: use a tool whose plan includes clean exports, and let disclosure ride invisibly in the metadata where it belongs.
Where PrismPoster lands
After any credit purchase, PrismPoster exports carry no visible label, at any resolution from 360p drafts to 4K finals. Free exports carry a small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark, and, unlike most of the market, you may use them commercially with the label on; buying any credit pack removes the label, not a licence. The same label stays on real-person likeness work on every account, except Premium video of your own verified likeness. Every file is also written with machine-readable provenance metadata, and clips and timeline exports are signed with C2PA content credentials, both best effort; no purchase turns them off. We say that plainly because it puts us in the same pattern as the rest of the market on the visible layer, and ahead of most of it on the invisible one — and because it makes PrismPoster the wrong tool if your goal is AI content that cannot be identified as AI. That is not a use case we serve.
What the video side actually is: the Video Studio generates text-to-video and image-to-video clips of 4, 6, 8, 10 seconds, in 16:9, 9:16 on the Standard engine, at 360p, 720p, 1080p, or 4K. A base clip costs 30 credits at 360p and 125 at 1080p, so the economical workflow is drafting cheap and re-rendering the keeper — our resolution guide walks through the math, and single-clip length limits explain why everyone's clips are short. Longer pieces get assembled in the timeline editor, which renders exports on our servers with no duration cap.
Two honest limits. Standard clips come out in 16:9, 9:16 only; the Premium engine, which any credit pack opens, renders 16:9, 9:16, 1:1, 21:9, 3:4. And real people take an extra step: a photo of a real person animates on the Standard engine only after you confirm you have that person’s permission, and the clip carries the small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark on every account, while Premium renders a real person only as your own face-verified likeness. Generated stills, product shots, art, and landscapes animate without that step.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which AI video generators have no watermark on the free tier?
Very few, because the watermark is how free video tiers pay for their compute. As of October 2026, most major tools watermark free output or reserve clean exports for paid plans; Pika’s free tier is unwatermarked but non-commercial and comes with no monthly credits. PrismPoster exports carry no visible label after any credit purchase (there is no subscription; packs start at €3.99), with machine-readable provenance metadata and C2PA content credentials applied best effort instead; free exports carry a small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark.
Is it OK to remove the watermark from an AI video?
Removing another vendor's watermark with croppers or inpainting tools usually violates the terms you generated under, degrades the frame, and — where the watermark serves as AI disclosure — amounts to disguising synthetic media. If you need a clean frame, generate with a tool whose plan includes watermark-free export rather than stripping one after the fact.
What are C2PA content credentials?
An open standard from the Coalition for Content Provenance and Authenticity for cryptographically signed metadata that records how a file was made, including whether AI was involved. The credentials are invisible in playback but readable with verification tools, so a video can disclose its origin without a logo on the frame. Adobe, Google, Microsoft, and OpenAI are among the steering members.
Does PrismPoster put a watermark on videos?
No visible label after any credit purchase, at any resolution; free exports carry a small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark. Files are written with machine-readable provenance metadata, and clips and timeline exports are signed with C2PA content credentials, both best effort; no purchase turns them off, because we support labeling AI content. If you want AI output that cannot be identified as AI, PrismPoster is deliberately the wrong choice.
Test it with a clean export today
The cheapest way to check any of this is an actual file: generate a clip, download it, and look at the frame — then drop it into a C2PA verification tool and look at the metadata. A free account comes, in most regions, with a one-time grant of 200 credits, no card, video generation included — enough for roughly 2 short 720p clips at 80 credits each, or a mix of drafts and one high-resolution keeper. Starter credits expire 24 hours after they are granted, the full price list is public, and a single credit pack from €3.99 (no subscription) removes the small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark from your exports.
Turn ideas into high-definition AI video clips & timeline cuts
Generate text-to-video and image-to-video in 360p up to 4K, extend scenes per second, and assemble complete multi-track videos with auto-captions and zero desktop install.