Skip to main content

Midjourney alternatives in 2026: seven free and paid tools compared

The PrismPoster teamJuly 16, 2026Updated September 29, 20269 min read

The right Midjourney alternative depends on what pushed you to look. For a free tier you can actually ship from, Leonardo and Ideogram both allow commercial use of free images, though both publish them. For a plan that hides nothing, Google AI Plus starts at $4.99/month and Adobe Firefly at $11.99/month, both with Content Credentials on their output. For owning the pipeline, FLUX.2 klein is an Apache 2.0 model you can run yourself. For typography, Ideogram. Every figure below was read on the vendor's own page in September 2026, and the table shows who ships a visible watermark on free output.

Why do people look for Midjourney alternatives in 2026?

1. There is no way to try it on the web. Midjourney's help centre says no free trial is available in Discord or on midjourney.com; the only trial is a limited one inside the niji · journey mobile app (checked September 2026). The cheapest test is the $10/month Basic plan with 3.3 hours (200 minutes) of fast GPU time, or $96 billed annually.

2. Your images are public unless you pay $60 or more. Stealth Mode, which keeps images and videos private, is only on Pro ($60/month) and Mega ($120/month). Everything generated on Basic and Standard is visible — a real problem for client work, unannounced products and anything under embargo.

3. The $1 million revenue clause. Midjourney's plan page says a company making more than $1,000,000 USD in gross revenue per year must buy Pro or Mega. It is the most misquoted line in its terms, and plenty of teams sitting on Standard are out of compliance without knowing it.

4. Its own provenance tag, not Content Credentials. Midjourney now hides an ID tag in every delivered image and runs a free checker at midjourney.com/verify, and its own help page warns that screenshots, edits and most social sites strip the tag. That page does not mention C2PA Content Credentials, the standard Adobe and Google attach. With EU AI Act Article 50 transparency duties applying from August 2, 2026, how your tool labels its output is a compliance question you inherit.

5. Taste. Some users leave over the house style rather than the terms: a polished default look that fights spec-precise briefs.

The seven alternatives at a glance (checked September 2026)

Midjourney's own row is first, so you can see what each alternative changes.

Tool Free tier (Sept 2026) Commercial use on free Free images public? Visible watermark on free Entry paid price (Sept 2026) Provenance Source Subscription required?
Midjourney None on web or Discord; limited trial in the niji · journey app No free tier on web Yes — private only on Pro and Mega None stated on the plans page $10/mo ($96/yr) Hidden Midjourney ID tag + verify page docs.midjourney.com Yes
Ideogram Weekly slow credits for eligible accounts; amount not published ("may vary") Yes Yes — published by default; private from Plus None stated on the pricing page $20/mo ($180/yr) None stated on the pricing page ideogram.ai/pricing Yes
Leonardo 150 fast tokens/day Yes, but Leonardo and other users get a licence to public images Yes None stated on the pricing page $12/mo None stated on the pricing page leonardo.ai/pricing · commercial usage Yes
Adobe Firefly Free daily generations; count not published Yes, for Firefly-model outputs Not stated on the plans page None stated on the plans page $11.99/mo (2,000 credits) Content Credentials attached automatically adobe.com Firefly plans Yes
FLUX.2 klein 4B (self-host) Open weights, free to run Yes — Apache 2.0 No — runs on your hardware None Hosted API billed per megapixel None by default Hugging Face model card · bfl.ai/pricing Not stated
Google's Gemini image generation Compute-based limits that refresh every 5 hours up to a weekly cap Not stated on the plans page Not stated on the plans page On by default; a setting turns it off (not in India, South Korea or Vietnam without Ultra) $4.99/mo (Google AI Plus, US) SynthID + C2PA on all output gemini.google plans · watermark settings Not stated
Recraft 3 generations per style per day No — free images are owned by Recraft Yes — community gallery None stated on the pricing page $12/mo ($10/mo billed annually) None stated on the pricing page recraft.ai/pricing Yes
PrismPoster 100 one-time starter credits (expire 72 hours after they are granted) Yes No — private by default Yes — a small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark on every free generation Credit packs from €3.99, no subscription (label removed after any purchase) Embedded AI-provenance metadata on every export /pricing No

"None stated" means the vendor's page we cite says nothing either way; it is not a promise that no mark exists. For the wider market map beyond Midjourney, our full image generator comparison covers OpenAI's GPT Image and the rest of the field.

What is the best free Midjourney alternative?

It depends on what "free" has to cover.

  • Free and commercial: Leonardo. 150 fast tokens a day, and its help centre says free-plan users can download their generations for commercial use. The catch is that free images are public, and Leonardo keeps a worldwide licence to public images while other users may remix them.
  • Free and private: self-hosted FLUX.2 klein. Apache 2.0, about 13 GB of VRAM (an RTX 3090 or 4070 and up, per the model card), no gallery and no fees — but also no provenance marking unless you add it.
  • Free with the fewest hard limits: Google's Gemini image generation, where the cap is compute rather than a published image count.
  • Free, for personal use only: Recraft. Its free images belong to Recraft and are not licensed for commercial use, the strictest terms in this list.

Which alternative wins for typography and design text?

Ideogram. Text inside images is what it is built around, and Ideogram 4.0 is an open-weight model you can download, fine-tune and run yourself, with commercial deployments licensed "to match your scale" per Ideogram's own model page (checked September 2026). Plus is $20/month or $180 a year for 1,000 priority credits. Know the trade-offs: unused priority credits expire at the end of each billing cycle, the free allowance is unpublished and "may vary", and every image is published unless you pay for Plus or Pro.

Which one lets you ship from the free tier?

Leonardo — with the privacy caveat above. Its free plan is 150 fast tokens a day and paid plans start at $12/month for 8,500 fast tokens and private creations (checked September 2026). It also offers what Midjourney does not: personal AI models (10 on the Essential plan, 20 on Premium). If your real workflow is templates with AI inside, read how PrismPoster compares to Canva instead.

Which is safest for client and enterprise work?

Adobe Firefly. Adobe says Firefly is trained on licensed and public-domain content, that Firefly-model outputs can be used commercially, that Content Credentials are attached automatically, and that eligible enterprise customers may receive IP indemnification for select outputs (checked September 2026). Standard is $11.99/month for 2,000 generative credits; the free plan gives daily generations with no published count. Firefly wins on paperwork; whether its output beats Midjourney's look is a matter of taste you should test on your own briefs.

What if you would rather own the pipeline than rent it?

Go open weights. FLUX.2 klein (4B) is Apache 2.0 — free for commercial self-hosting, about 13 GB of VRAM, and described by Black Forest Labs as capable of sub-second generation — and Ideogram 4.0's weights are downloadable too. Run them through ComfyUI. You get LoRAs, fine-tunes, no per-image fees and no public gallery, plus real work: node graphs take time to learn, and self-hosted output carries no provenance marking at all, which becomes your responsibility. If you want the models without the hardware, Black Forest Labs' hosted API is billed per megapixel of output and per reference image (bfl.ai/pricing).

What about Google's Gemini image generation?

It is the cheapest paid step and the most generous free one. The free Gemini app includes image generation and editing under compute-based limits that refresh every five hours until a weekly cap, and Google AI Plus doubles those limits for $4.99/month in the US (checked September 2026). The watermark story changed this year: a visible watermark is applied by default, but a Media Watermark setting now turns it off — except in India, South Korea and Vietnam, where only AI Ultra subscribers get the setting. SynthID and C2PA Content Credentials stay on every output whatever the setting.

What about logos and vector output?

Recraft lists vector generation alongside image generation (its pricing FAQ says so for the API) and adds custom styles and colour palettes. Basic is $12/month, or $10/month billed annually, for 1,000 credits, with commercial rights and private generations (checked September 2026). Read the free tier carefully before relying on it: free-plan images are owned by Recraft, shown in the community gallery and not licensed for commercial use — a sharp contrast with Leonardo and Ideogram.

When is PrismPoster the right switch?

When Midjourney was one subscription among several. PrismPoster replaces the stack rather than the generator: an Image Studio with reference images (@tags) for character and product consistency, the Magic Edit suite for prompt-based editing, plus video, music and a timeline editor, all from one credit wallet. Images are 20 credits each; a free account's 100 starter credits cover up to 5 images, and after that you buy one-off credit packs from €3.99 — no subscription, and purchased credits never expire. Unlike Midjourney, nothing you make is public by default, and commercial use is allowed on every account, free included.

Who should not switch: art-direction purists chasing Midjourney's specific aesthetic, anyone who wants self-hosting (use FLUX.2 klein), and anyone who needs clean images from a free tier — every free PrismPoster generation carries a small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark until your first credit purchase. And every export, on every account, carries embedded AI-provenance metadata, so it is the wrong tool for hiding AI use. You can test it with a free account.

Still narrowing the shortlist? We ran the same test on Leonardo AI alternatives, Runway alternatives, Pika alternatives, Luma Dream Machine alternatives, and InVideo alternatives.

Prefer a straight head-to-head over a shortlist? We keep a PrismPoster vs Midjourney comparison current.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Midjourney have a free trial in 2026?

Not on the web or in Discord. Midjourney's help centre says the only trial is a limited one in the niji · journey app for iOS and Android (checked September 2026). The cheapest full plan is Basic at $10/month or $96 a year. Leonardo, Ideogram, Adobe Firefly and Google's Gemini image generation all offer ongoing free tiers.

What is the best free alternative to Midjourney?

For commercial work, Leonardo: 150 fast tokens a day with commercial use allowed, though free images are public. For privacy, self-hosted FLUX.2 klein under Apache 2.0. For the lightest limits, Google's Gemini image generation. Avoid Recraft's free tier for client work — its free images are owned by Recraft and not licensed for commercial use.

Can I use Midjourney images commercially on the Basic plan?

Yes, if your company grosses under $1,000,000 a year — above that, Midjourney's plan page requires Pro or Mega. Separately, images made below Pro are publicly visible because Stealth Mode is Pro-and-up only, which matters for client work regardless of rights.

Does Midjourney watermark its images?

Its help centre describes no visible watermark. Instead it hides a small ID tag inside every delivered image and offers a free checker at midjourney.com/verify; the tag is lost when an image is screenshotted, edited or re-uploaded to most social sites. Its Content Authenticity page does not mention C2PA Content Credentials.

Which Midjourney alternatives add a visible watermark on free images?

Google's Gemini image generation applies one by default, with a setting to turn it off outside India, South Korea and Vietnam. PrismPoster puts a small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark on every free generation until the account buys any credit pack. The Ideogram, Leonardo, Recraft and Adobe Firefly pages we checked in September 2026 state no visible watermark either way.

AI Image Studio & Magic Edit

Generate high-res imagery and edit with precision

Create reference-consistent images, then inpaint, outpaint, retouch, restyle, and upscale with complete before/after versioning in one shared Library.

Reference-consistent images with prompt & style consistency
Magic Edit: prompt-based inpainting, outpainting, and upscaling
100 starter credits, no card — use them within 72 hours
✓ Instant access✓ No credit card required✓ Machine-readable AI provenance✓ No subscription, one-off credit packs

Keep reading