The best AI image generators in 2026, and who each one is for
Pick your AI image generator by the job, not by a leaderboard. As of September 2026: Midjourney remains the artistic benchmark, OpenAI's GPT Image follows instructions and renders dense text best, Ideogram owns typography, Leonardo pairs character training with a genuinely commercial free tier, Adobe Firefly is the enterprise-safe choice, Flux is the open-weight route if you want to run your own pipeline, Google's Gemini image generation gives the most capable free access, and PrismPoster fits creators who need images, video, and music from one credit wallet. This comparison uses each vendor's own pricing and help pages, checked in September 2026, and names each tool's real weaknesses — ours included.
What changed since the July edition?
Several facts moved between July and September 2026, and each one changes a buying decision. Google AI Plus now costs $4.99 a month in the US, not $7.99, and Gemini's visible watermark is a setting you can switch off rather than a rule tied to the Ultra tier. Adobe Firefly's free plan is now "free daily generations" instead of 25 credits a month. Ideogram states that you may use generated images "for any purpose, including commercial use", and it no longer publishes a fixed weekly free-credit number. Midjourney hides an ID tag in every image it delivers and runs a public verify page, so "no provenance" is no longer true. And Black Forest Labs' own FLUX.2 klein code adds a pixel-layer watermark, and BFL signs C2PA metadata on outputs it delivers. On OpenAI's API pricing page, DALL·E is gone and the current image models are the gpt-image-2.5 variants.
The comparison table
| Tool | Entry paid price (checked Sept 2026) | Free tier | Commercial use on free | Visible watermark on free | Provenance | Source | Subscription required? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Midjourney | $10/mo (Basic), $8/mo billed annually | None on the website or Discord; a limited trial in the niji · journey mobile app | No free tier (paid plans: yes, Pro or Mega above $1M revenue) | No free tier | Hidden ID tag in every image, checkable at midjourney.com/verify | docs.midjourney.com | Yes |
| OpenAI (ChatGPT image generation) | Go tier (price varies by country; €8/mo on the EU pricing page); Plus $20/mo | "Limited and slower image generation", count unpublished | Not stated on the pricing or provenance pages | None by default; you can prompt for one | C2PA + SynthID on supported images | help.openai.com | Not stated |
| Ideogram | $20/mo (Plus), $15/mo billed annually | Weekly credits for eligible accounts, amount varies; images published by default | Yes, "any purpose, including commercial use" | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | ideogram.ai/pricing | Yes |
| Leonardo | $12/mo (Essential) | 150 fast tokens/day; creations public | Yes, per Leonardo's commercial-usage help article | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | leonardo.ai/pricing | Yes |
| Adobe Firefly | $9.99/mo (Standard, 2,000 credits) | Free daily generations, count unpublished | Yes, "safe for commercial use" | Not stated on the plans page | Content Credentials (C2PA) attached automatically | adobe.com | Yes |
| Flux (self-host or API) | Free self-host (FLUX.2 klein 4B, Apache 2.0); API billed per megapixel | Open weights | Yes (klein 4B, Apache 2.0) | None visible; the reference code adds a pixel-layer watermark | C2PA on outputs BFL delivers; a custom self-host pipeline can skip both | Hugging Face model card | Not stated |
| Google's Gemini image generation | $4.99/mo (Google AI Plus, US) | Compute-based limits, refresh every 5 hours to a weekly cap | Not stated on the plans page | A setting you can turn off (not in India, South Korea or Vietnam without AI Ultra) | SynthID + C2PA on every output | support.google.com | Yes |
| PrismPoster | Credit packs from €3.99, one-off (any pack removes the label) | 100 one-time starter credits (expire 72 hours after signup), every studio | Yes | Yes — a small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark on every free generation | Embedded AI-provenance metadata on every export | /pricing | No |
Three notes before the detail. Credits and tokens are not comparable across vendors — a Leonardo token and a Firefly credit buy different amounts of image, so the sections below quote real costs where they exist. Privacy differs more than pricing: free images on Ideogram and Leonardo are publicly visible, and on Midjourney everything below the Pro tier is public. And provenance is not the same thing as a watermark: C2PA metadata and invisible marks like SynthID disclose that an image is AI-made, while a visible free-tier label is something you pay to remove — different mechanisms with different purposes.
Midjourney: still the artistic benchmark
Midjourney produces the most art-directed default output in the category. Basic is $10/month for 3.3 fast GPU hours (200 minutes), with Standard at $30, Pro at $60, and Mega at $120, all 20% less billed annually, checked September 2026 (docs.midjourney.com). There is no free trial on the website or in Discord; Midjourney's only trial is a limited one in the niji · journey mobile app. Two policies surprise buyers: Stealth Mode, which keeps images private, exists only on Pro and Mega, and companies grossing over $1 million a year must be on Pro or Mega. For provenance, every image Midjourney delivers carries a hidden ID tag that its free verify page can check — though screenshots and most social sites strip it. The recurring complaint is a hyper-polished, "too clean" default look, and spec-precise briefs still miss. If any of that disqualifies it for you, we keep a full list of Midjourney alternatives.
OpenAI GPT Image: instruction-following and dense text
OpenAI's GPT Image models are the ones to use when the image must obey: menus, diagrams, UI mockups, and long in-image text, grounded in the model's world knowledge, refined across conversational turns. Free ChatGPT accounts get "limited and slower image generation" — OpenAI does not publish the exact allowance. The Go tier adds "more image creation" at a price that varies by country, and ChatGPT Plus is $20/month (help.openai.com). On the API, the current gpt-image-2.5 models are billed per token — $30 per million image output tokens — with per-image estimates in OpenAI's calculator, checked September 2026 (developers.openai.com). Weaknesses: a persistent yellow-sepia cast, generations that can run past a minute, and strict content-policy refusals. Supported images from ChatGPT and the API carry both C2PA metadata and a SynthID watermark; there is no visible mark unless you prompt for one.
Ideogram: typography, posters, and open weights
Ideogram is the typography specialist — designers reach for it for posters, logos, and layouts. Eligible free accounts get weekly slow credits in an amount Ideogram says "may vary", and every image is published by default; only Plus and Pro subscribers can generate unpublished images. Plus is $20/month, or $15/month billed annually ($180 a year), for 1,000 priority credits a month, checked September 2026 (ideogram.ai/pricing). Ideogram claims no ownership of your images and allows "any purpose, including commercial use" — on the free plan too. Ideogram Character keeps a face consistent from a single reference, and Magic Fill and Extend cover editing. Photorealism trails Midjourney, and the pricing page states nothing about content credentials.
Leonardo: character training and a commercial free tier
Leonardo has one of the most commercially useful free tiers: 150 fast tokens a day, with commercial use allowed per its commercial-usage help article. Paid plans start at $12/month (Essential, 8,500 fast tokens a month and private creations), checked September 2026 (leonardo.ai/pricing). The real differentiator is custom model and LoRA training on your own images, rare at this price, alongside a consistent-character engine and a multi-model library. The top complaint is token opacity: costs vary with GPU load, there is no published rate table, so it is hard to predict how far the daily free allowance goes. Free generations are public — other users can copy and remix them — and the pricing page states nothing about provenance.
Adobe Firefly: the enterprise-safe pick
Firefly's pitch is legal comfort: training on licensed and Adobe Stock content, IP indemnification for enterprises, and C2PA Content Credentials attached automatically to every output — the current provenance gold standard. Without a plan you get "limited free daily generations" that refresh every day (Adobe publishes no count), and Adobe states its model outputs are "safe for commercial use"; the plans page says nothing about a visible watermark. Standard is US$9.99/month for 2,000 credits and Pro is US$19.99 for 4,000, checked September 2026 (adobe.com); Pro and up add unlimited generations on select models for the first year. The Photoshop integration is best in class. The honest catch: in community blind tests, Firefly's raw output loses to Midjourney far more often than it wins.
Flux: the open-weight route
Black Forest Labs — founded by the original Stable Diffusion authors — publishes the strongest open weights. FLUX.2 klein 4B is open weights under Apache 2.0 — free for commercial self-hosting — and fits in about 13GB of VRAM, per its model card. For FLUX.2 dev and the larger klein 9B, BFL sells commercial self-hosting licenses. The hosted API is pay-as-you-go per megapixel of input and output, checked September 2026 (bfl.ai/pricing). Flux's multi-reference conditioning takes several reference images for character and product consistency, and Kontext handles instruction-based editing; the models are also available through ComfyUI, fal.ai, Krea, Leonardo, and Firefly's partner hub. Caveats: the license tiers confuse people, and dev-era models produce same-y "Flux face" portraits. On provenance, BFL's reference inference code adds a pixel-layer watermark and BFL signs C2PA metadata on the outputs it delivers — but a custom self-hosted pipeline can leave both out.
Google's Gemini image generation: distribution and references
Google's Gemini image generation is the most capable free option: compute-based limits that refresh every five hours until you reach a weekly cap (Google publishes no exact counts), strong long-text and infographic rendering, and multi-image reference conditioning. Paid tiers run Google AI Plus at $4.99/month, AI Pro at $19.99, and AI Ultra from $99.99 in the US, checked September 2026 (gemini.google). The visible watermark is now a setting in Gemini Apps that you can turn off — except in India, South Korea and Vietnam, where only AI Ultra subscribers get the switch (Google's help page). The setting does not touch the invisible layer: every image made or edited in Gemini Apps embeds SynthID plus C2PA, so provenance here is never optional.
PrismPoster: images beside video and music
PrismPoster is not a pure image generator, and if stills are all you make, one of the specialists above may serve you better — that is the honest framing. It is an AI creation studio: an Image Studio with reference images (@tags) for character and product consistency and cinema modes, the prompt-based Magic Edit suite, plus video and music studios and a timeline editor, all billed from one credit wallet. Images cost 20 credits each; a free account's 100 starter credits (in most regions) cover up to 5 images — or up to 3 songs, or up to 1 short clips — and after that it is one-off credit packs from €3.99, no subscription, with purchased credits that never expire (full feature list). Commercial use is allowed on every account, free included. Three deliberate limitations: there is no self-host option, every free generation carries a small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark until you buy any credit pack, and every export carries embedded AI-provenance metadata. That is a compliance posture aligned with the EU AI Act — it only counts against us if your goal is passing AI images off as something else. If your images feed into video work, the same wallet covers both.
How should you choose?
Buy the failure mode you can live with. Art direction with budget: Midjourney, knowing images below Pro are public. Text-heavy graphics: Ideogram or GPT Image. A free tier you can ship commercial work from: Leonardo or Ideogram, if public images are acceptable. Client work under legal review: Firefly. Full control with no subscription: Flux klein on ComfyUI. Images as one part of video-and-music production: PrismPoster. If you mainly assemble designs in a template editor and want AI inside that workflow, that is Canva's territory — we compare PrismPoster and Canva directly rather than pretending to replace it. And before paying anyone, learn what AI editing operations can rescue: a mediocre generation you can edit often beats a great one you cannot.
For consistent characters and free image workflows, continue with AI character description generators, AI character generators, Character sheets for AI video, Restoring old photos with AI, and How to generate AI images for free.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which AI image generator is free for commercial use?
Leonardo (150 fast tokens a day) and Ideogram (weekly credits for eligible accounts) both allow commercial use of free-tier images, but free images on both are public. Adobe calls Firefly outputs "safe for commercial use", and PrismPoster allows commercial use on Free with a small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark on each generation — all checked September 2026. Note the US legal baseline: purely AI-generated images have no copyright protection, so "ownership" means contract rights with the vendor.
Is DALL·E 3 still available?
Not on OpenAI's API pricing page: as of September 2026 it lists no DALL·E model, and the image models it prices are the gpt-image-2.5 variants. Any comparison still benchmarking DALL·E 3 is out of date.
Which tool renders text inside images best?
Ideogram is built around typography — posters, logos and layouts — while Google's Gemini image generation and OpenAI's GPT Image models are strongest on long text like infographics and menus. Text-in-image remains unreliable on budget tools.
Do AI image generators watermark their output?
Two different things get called watermarks. Invisible provenance marks disclose AI origin: Google embeds SynthID plus C2PA on everything, OpenAI adds C2PA plus SynthID, Adobe attaches Content Credentials, Midjourney hides an ID tag you can check on its verify page, and PrismPoster embeds provenance metadata on every export. Visible marks are rarer: Gemini applies one unless you turn the setting off, and PrismPoster puts a small AI-generated label with the PrismPoster mark on every free generation until the account buys any credit pack. The Midjourney, Ideogram, Leonardo and Adobe Firefly pages we checked in September 2026 describe no visible watermark.
What is the cheapest paid AI image plan in 2026?
Google AI Plus at $4.99/month (US) is the lowest mainstream entry, followed by Adobe Firefly Standard at $9.99 and Midjourney Basic at $10 ($8 billed annually), checked September 2026 on each vendor's own page. At volume, APIs and self-hosting are cheaper per image: FLUX.2 klein 4B is free to self-host under Apache 2.0, and BFL's hosted API bills per megapixel.
Generate high-res imagery and edit with precision
Create reference-consistent images, then inpaint, outpaint, retouch, restyle, and upscale with complete before/after versioning in one shared Library.